ACDC – Apple Cake Disastrous Conundrum

 
My grandmother’s birthday was on October 17th. Before her birthday we were discussing what kind of cake she would like and I brought up the pumpkin shaped cake, which uses to bundt cakes. She loved this idea but requested that instead of pumpkin flavoring it be an apple cake with cream cheese icing. I said I’d make it, how hard could baking in a bundt cake be?

INGREDIENTS:
  • 2 eggs 
  • 2 cups sugar 
  • 1/2 cup applesauce 
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla 
  • 2 cups flour 
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt 
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda 
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon 
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg 
  • 4 cups diced peeled apples 

I made the applesauce first (a few days before). It’s basically the same process as making Apple Butter only this time I didn’t add spices because I wanted plain, sugar-free applesauce. I used lemon juice to keep the apple from getting too discolored and I didn’t cook it as long as for the apple butter.

Beat eggs until light and fluffy.

Gradually add sugar,

applesauce,

and vanilla.

Into a separate bowl, stir together flour, salt, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg.

Stir into first mixture.

Core, peel and chop apples before stirring them in.

Grease a 12″ bundt cake pan. I mean seriously grease it, maybe use flour too… Then pour in batter to about 3/4 full.

Bake at 350° for 45 minutes. Let cake cool in pan on a rack for 10 to 15 minutes, then cry when it falls apart and you realize how badly you just failed.

Make batter again. This time pour into two 8″ round pans. Bake at 350° for 45 minutes.

Let cake cool in pan on a rack for 10 to 15 minutes, then LEAP for JOY because it doesn’t fall apart. Cool completely before spreading with cream cheese frosting.

CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

  • 1 pkg.(3 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl; beat until smooth.

Sing Happy Birthday, blow out the candles and make a wish. Happy Birthday Grandma!

Now what am I going to do with the rest of these apples?

2 thoughts on “ACDC – Apple Cake Disastrous Conundrum

  1. Maggie Haseman

    It's good to hear stories about other baking disasters; I now know that I am not alone. I really wish cream cheese could cover all failures, but in the meantime it helps me get over them (especially when smeared on a bagel)

    Reply
  2. Dustin from Church :-)

    Yikes! I have a very similar recipe that I love. HOWEVER…. It falls about every other time I make it, so now I cook a two layer cake in shallow pans so that I can cover my failures more easily with cream cheese. …Wouldn't it be nice if we could cover all our failures with cream cheese?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

